People

Dr. Reinhard Radermacher
Minta Martin Professor of Engineering and Director
Email: raderm@umd.edu | Website
Consortia:
Yunho Hwang
Research Professor, Associate Director
Email: yhhwang@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: EEHP
Michael Ohadi
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and CEEE Founding Faculty Member
Email: ohadi@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: AHXPI
Mary Baugher
Assistant to the Director
Email: mbaugher@umd.edu
Consortia:
Tanya Pringle
Administrative Assistant II
Email: tpringle@umd.edu
Consortia:
Yunho Hwang
Research Professor, Associate Director
Email: yhhwang@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: EEHP
Ken Kiger
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Email: kkiger@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: EEHP
Amir Riaz
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Email: ariaz@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: MOC
Jelena Sebric
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Professor of Architecture
Email: jsrebric@umd.edu | Website
Consortia:
Bao Yang
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Email: baoyang@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: AHXPI
Vikrant Aute
Associate Research Scientist and Director
Email: vikrant@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: MOC
Dr. Serguei Dessiatoun
Associate Research Scientist
Email: ser@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: AHXPI
Jiazhen Ling
Research Assistant Professor
Email: jiazhen@umd.edu
Consortia: EEHP, MOC
Jan Muehlbauer
Faculty Specialist
Email: muehlie@umd.edu
Consortia: EEHP
Dr. Amir Shooshtari
Associate Research Scientist
Email: amir@umd.edu | Website
Consortia: AHXPI
Research Associate
Email: fsinger@umd.edu
Consortia: AHXPI
Lopamudra Vemulapalli
Faculty Specialist
Email: vlopa@umd.edu
Consortia: MOC
Bacellar, Daniel Fernandes dfbace@umd.edu

Optimization of miniaturized air-to-refrigerant heat exchangers

Bangerth, Stefan sbangert@umd.edu

Velocity-based defrost control

Beshr, Mohamed mbeshr@umd.edu

Life Cycle Climate Performance

Cao, Fangyu fycao@umd.edu

Synthesis of Nanomaterials

Cao, Tao taocao@umd.edu

Micro-grid system modeling and optimization, to find a way to commercialize micro-grid energy systems for ship applications

Deisenroth, David ddeisenr@umd.edu

Two-phase flow, polymer heat exchangers, additive manufacturing

Dhumane, Rohit dhumane@umd.edu

Robotic Cooling

Eldeeb, Radia radiame@umd.edu

Optimization of plate heat exchanger design

Huang, Long (*Alumni, Ph.D. 2014)

Note: Long Huang graduated in 2014, and his dissertation was “Development of Advanced Numerical Models for Variable Geometry Microchannel Heat Exchangers.”  He now works for Navigant.

Huang, Zhiwei zwhuang@umd.edu

Next Generation Air-refrigerant Heat Exchangers

Lin, Xiaojie xiaojie@umd.edu

Experimental Evaluation and Simulation Research of Novel Variable Refrigerant Flow Systems

Mandel, Raphael rmandel@umd.edu

Modeling the Thermal and Hydrodynamic Performance of Manifold Microchannel Evaporators

Mei, Zhenyuan zymei@umd.edu

Transient Modeling of Thermal Management Systems

Mohamed Beshr mbeshr@umd.edu

"Develpment of Vapor Compression System Simulation Tools"

Moon Soo Lee lms0523@umd.edu

Numerical methods for multi-phase flow with phase change

Muthusubramanian, Kamalakkannan

Note: Kamalakkannan Muthusubramanian graduated in 2015 with a Master's Degree in Mechanical Engineering.  He now works as an engineer at Emerson Climate Technologies in Ohio.  His dissertation was, "Velocity-based Defrost of Evaporator Coils of Heat pumps"

Oles, Andrew asoles@umd.edu

AHX/EC

Popli, Sahil (* Alumni, Ph.D. 2014) sahil.popli@emerson.com

Note: Sahil Popli graduated in 2014, and his dissertation was entitled, "Wetting of micro-channel heat exchanger heat transfer surfaces".  He now works for Emerson Climate Technologies.

Qiao, Hongtao (*Alumni, Ph.D. 2014)

Note: Hongtao Qiao graduated in 2014, and his dissertation was Transient Modeling of Two-stage and Variable Refrigerant Flow Vapor Compression Systems with Frosting and Defrosting.  He now works for Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory.

Stefan Bangerth sbangert@umd.edu

Mass Transfer Applications of Microchannels - Clog-free Microchannel Design for Gas Separation/Purification

Suxin Qian sqian@umd.edu

Development of Thermoelastic Cooling Systems

Tao, Ye ytao1@umd.edu

Electrochemical Compression

Viren Bhanot vbhanot@umd.edu

Dynamic Modeling of Vapor Compression Systems for Residential Heat Pump Applications With Alternative Lower-GWP Refrigerants

Zhang, Zhilu zlzhang@umd.edu

Analysis of Heat Pump Clothes Dryer

Ph.D. '2016
Consortia: AHXPI
M.S. '16
Consortia: EEHP
Ph.D. '2014
Consortia:
M.S. '2016
Consortia: EEHP
M.S. '2015
Consortia: EEHP
Ph.D. '2016
Consortia: AHXPI
Ph.D. '2014
Consortia: EEHP
M.S. '2016
Consortia: EEHP
Lt. Sarah Troch
M.S. '2016
Consortia: EEHP
M.S. '2014
Consortia: EEHP