International Joint Graduate Course in Sustainable Energy Conversion and the Environment

This course is offered in rotation between the University of Maryland,
the Technical University of Hamburg (Germany), Korea University,
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, and Waseda University (Japan). 

2019 host: Korea University

July 8-19, 2019

Download the draft syllabus for the 2019 course to be held at Korea University.


Students work together on group projects and relax together on the evenings and weekends.


Course Objectives

  • Understand technologies for sustainable energy production, conversion and utilization.
  • Understand limitations and opportunities.
  • Gain experience in challenges and opportunities in designing sustainable energy systems.
  • Develop your own vision for a future sustainable energy scenario.

2017 - University of Maryland Learn more.

2018 - Technical University of Hamburg, Germany

2019 - Korea University, South Korea

2020 - Waseda University, Japan

2021 - Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

2022 - University of Maryland, USA

How to Apply

University of Maryland students please apply via the Study Abroad website by March 1, 2019.  The 2019 application will be online by October 2018.


Your housing will located within walking distance to campus, typlically in a nearby hotel. Housing is included in the program fee.


Dr. Reinhard Radermacher is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Maryland, U.S.A.  He is an internationally recognized expert in working fluids for energy conversion systems; in particular heat pumps, air-conditioners and refrigeration systems. His work has resulted in more than 200 publications, including three books he co-authored, more than 180invention records and 12 patents. He currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of ASHRAE's archival journal, Science and Technology for the Built Environment.

Dr. Gerhard Schmitz is Professor for Thermodynamics in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Hamburg University of Technology. He holds a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering and has 30 years of research experience in energy engineering, including 11 years of industrial R&D experience. His research focuses on modeling of complex energy systems with Modelica, air conditioning systems for buildings and vehicles and humidity transport phenomena.

Dr. Hoseong Lee is an Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Korea University.  He graduated from the University of Maryland with a Ph.D. Degree in 2012, and stayed on as a faculty researcher and then as an assistant research professor before taking up his post at Korea University. His research focuses on improving the efficiency of energy conversion systems including power generation and heat pump systems. Dr. Lee is an expert in the CFD simulation, optimization and experimental test of thermal and fluid systems.

Dr. Kiyoshi Saito is director of the Saito Lab within the Department of Applied Mechanics and Aerospace Engineering, School of Fundamental Science and Engineering, Waseda University in Japan.  His research interests are: analysis theory of energy systems, control of energy savings systems, thermal fluid dynamics of micro and nano phenomena, and next generation heat pump technology.